Sourdough starter from scratch

I love sourdough bread, so I thought it was about time to have a go at making my own. First off I needed to work out how to make a sourdough starter, I’ve browsed the web endlessly trying to find a recipe that sounds right for me. I eventually found a recipe in one of my cookbooks Nourishing Traditions, by Sally Fallon.

The recipes I came across all pretty much called for the same ingredients.

Equal parts rye flour and filtered water.

Here’s what I used:

1cup of Rye flour

1 cup of Rain water

I mixed these up in 2 litre sterilised Fowlers jar, covered the jar and popped it in the pantry a (place of about 20 degrees) to work its magic.

Every day I need to feed the dough with 1 cup of Rye flour and about 1 cup of water to help the starter to develop. This should make a soupy consistency.

new pics 014

Ill keep you updated on how my sourdough starter is coming along!

One thought on “Sourdough starter from scratch

  1. Pingback: The ABCs Of Your Very Own Sourdough Starter .:. BlissPlan: Reaching Bliss Through Powerful Information

Leave a Reply

